top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabriella Tantillo

Accepting Your Chronic Illness By: Gabriella Tantillo


It may sound cliche, but accepting that you have a chronic illness is the key

turning point to having a different view point of the situation. The reason why, is that if you can’t accept it then you can never get past it and it will always be in your way. You will always see it as a barrier between the things you want to accomplish. I personally accepted this when I was tired of feeling sorry for myself. I remember I was walking into a store and it was on my mind and I remember opening the door and holding it for others and just thinking that I need to change. I need to stop feeling sorry for myself, and stop limiting myself and accomplish what I want. Now don’t get me wrong, occasionally I have times where I do feel bad for myself and I don’t believe in myself. Things with my illness are always changing and there’s new things that I have to think about and it does get overwhelming at times. When I stopped categorizing myself as someone “who has epilepsy” I was able to see other things about myself, the gifts that God has given me.


So, if you have an illness it will be tough but eventually accepting that you do will be easier. Just saying to yourself that you can’t change this. You can’t revolve your life around the illness but, find a way to put it in your life where you can still live your best life. Once you accept it, it will open new doors for you to have a more positive outlook on your illness. You will gain motivation to jumpstart finding more positive ways to live your life.


When you find the good in having your illness, you can find out things about yourself and find other ways to help people. You can focus on your talents and find the things that you are good at. Everyone has special talents and when you share those things with others, you are impacting them in a positive way, even with your illness. Your illness doesn’t have to stop you from doing the things you love. It should make you want to find out more things about yourself and what you can do. If you are strong enough to cope with your chronic illness, you can do so many things by accepting and not holding your back.

10 views0 comments
bottom of page